14ers to Pursue Post-Capitol

Colorado peak questions, condition requests and other info.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Troll posts will be removed.
For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
gratefulliam
14ers: 5 

14ers to Pursue Post-Capitol

Post by gratefulliam »

Hello all,

I am still relatively new to Colorado and was hoping to get some advice on where I stand in terms of skill and which 14ers I should pursue next. To give some context, I summited Capitol Peak with a friend of mine about two weeks ago. Overall, it was a grueling experience, though I definitely had a lot of fun. I would say that I didn't feel like any of the moves on the ridge or the scramble to the top were difficult, but I wasn't a huge fan of the exposure and loose rock along the final stretch. Though I would say I am an experienced climber, the only other 14er I've done here in Colorado so far has been Quandary Peak (via the west ridge), so I would love to hear some rec's on which peaks I should go for next. My only note would be that I don't want to do anything riskier than Capitol, since it was probably my limit as far as risk goes. I appreciate the help!!!

Thanks,
Liam
CaptainSuburbia
14ers: 58  34 
13ers: 81  10 
Trip Reports (40)

Re: 14ers to Pursue Post-Capitol

Post by CaptainSuburbia »

I'd recommend Little Bear. You'd be bored on anything else.
Some day our kids will study Clash lyrics in school.
Nothing drives people crazy like people drive people crazy.
Save Challenger Point
TaylorHolt
14ers: 58  1  15 
13ers: 161  5 
Trip Reports (8)

Post by TaylorHolt »